Foo Fighters: Back And Forth – Movie Review


Let me start off by saying you probably won’t be interested in this movie or review if you aren’t really a Foo Fighters fan, but if you are an openminded person this movie will change your whole opinion of Dave Grohl and the band that he created. Back And Forth centres on the greatest rock band around today, Foo Fighters, it travels back to Grohl’s experiences withNirvana from the creation to the fame to the heartbreak. The film then moves on to take us on the journey of the creation of the phenomenal rock band, Foo Fighters. As you can probably tell already I am a Foo Fighters fan, before watching this movie I liked them a lot but after viewing this documentary I fell in love with them and now a massive fan. Hopefully this film can convert you too.

The documentary doesn’t follow the typical formula, instead of having a single person narrating a collection of clips the story is told through a series of interviews with current and former band members. I felt as though this adds a very personal feel to the film as you hear the stories first hand from the people who actually experienced it.

The last act of the movie is centred on the creation of their new album, Wasting Light, which in my opinion their best album and it is throughly interesting to see the complete process that they went through to make it. I feel as though this is the best part of the whole movie is as it moves away from the interviews and it becomes more driven by footage from Grohl’s personal studio which gives you a glimpse into the bands personal lives.

While watching there were a few parts that really stood out for me, the first being when William Goldsmith found out that Grohl had rerecorded all the drums on one album. This moment made me finally see that even the nicest man in rock – Grohl – can do horrible things. The second was of course when Foo Fighters reached their prime, when they played their biggest gig at Wembley, this was the moment were you think “woah, they really are the best band in the world!” The final moment was the production of the song I Should Have Known, this is personally my favourite song on their new album because through the song and in this documentary you can see that this song is so thoughtful and has come from so deep inside Grohl. I have so much respect for him for what he has been through and all that hardship comes through in this section of the movie.

If you aren’t a Foo Fighters fan I would still highly recommend this to you, if you are at all a fan of music and it’s creation I can guarantee you will love this movie as much as I did and afterwards you will realise how many astonishing songs they really have and you will want to go back and visit their whole discography.

10/10

3 Responses to Foo Fighters: Back And Forth – Movie Review

  1. platformpieces says:

    I am not really Foo Fighters fan but I think I will check this out – I love rock n roll docs and concert films. Have you seen Scorcese’s Shine A Light? That’s pretty great.

    • moviesoclock says:

      Good, I can safely say you will love it. No I haven’t, I was never the biggest Stones fan but I think I will check it out.

  2. I was lucky enough to see this really early on the BBC, blew me away – there was plenty revealed about the band that I had no idea about. I agree with your review…as soon as the documentary ended I listened to some of their older tracks and then got the new album.

Leave a Reply

