Game Of Thrones Season 1 – Review


I have been waiting to watch this series for ages and I have finally got round to it and I really don’t know why I didn’t watch it before. This series is absolutely phenomenal; I have now become a huge fan and cannot wait for season two to start up in April. Game Of Thrones is a HBO adaptation of the amazing books written by George R.R. Martin. It is set in fantasy medieval world where seven different families are fighting for control over the land Westeros.

Let’s start off by talking about the absolutely astonishing acting, the stand out performance obviously comes from the biggest name in this series, Sean Bean, he delivers an astounding performance as Ned Stark. Another one of the standout performances in this show is Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, the evil imp, his performance supplies some humour to an otherwise dark and serious show. I felt like the series overall was phenomenally casted and I really couldn’t think of anyone better to play these characters. This great casting mixed with the brilliant acting really made me feel for these characters as if I had known them for years.

Now I haven’t read any of the books that were written by George R.R. Martin so I don’t know if this has been a good adaptation from it’s source materials. From what I have heard I an conclude that is one of the best book to television adaptations that we have seen for a while. It has been said that this show follows the book to perfection, some scenes have been directly converted word for word from it’s source material.

Game Of Thrones really isn’t a series for the feint hearted, it is filled with extreme violence, blood and sex. This isn’t a bad thing as it doesn’t feel forced and is perfectly fitting with the style of the show. But the excess violence and sex may off put a few people from watching the series, but you really shouldn’t let it.

There are a few problems I have with Game Of Thrones, one of them being something quite personal. While watching the first episode it took me a while to get into it and ending up taking me till around episode three before I started to really get into it and engage with the characters. The time it takes to get into it shouldn’t be anything that puts you off as when you do get into you will love yourself for sticking with it.

Another problem that I had with the series was how they missed out all of the intense battles, one of my friends has actually read the books and they said that the battles are actually quite long and played out but in the series they have been cut out, one example is just before there is a battle Tyrion Lannister gets knocked out so you and him miss the whole battle and then when he wakes you and him see the aftermath, missing all the action.

The final thing I wasn’t really fond of was the soundtrack, I know great soundtracks are hard to make but I just thought that this one was lacking and didn’t have the depth and fullness that I had hoped for. Don’t get me wrong it’s a good soundtrack compared to others but it’s no Lord Of The Rings. 

Now let’s go back to the things I loved, I absolutely loved the dialogue that was superbly written by David Benioff, D.B. Weiss. I think that the dialogue is in perfect fitting with the dark series. I have heard that some of the conversations in the series are directly transferred to the screen without any alteration in the source material.

One thing I really l did love is the direction of this beautiful series, there are some astonishing landscape shots that pan across the medieval countryside. Game Of Thrones really does have a breathtaking style giving the overall show an amazing look.

Game Of Thrones does have a few faults but they are only really nitpicks and those small niggles shouldn’t stop anyone from sitting down and watching this groundbreaking series in a ten hour sitting, by god it is totally worth it. Please don’t let any of the violence or sex put you off because this show really is one of the best I have seen in a while. I know that there isn’t many battles but HBO make dramas not actions so I’m not that fussed but it would be nice to see a little more. I guarantee you will love this series as much as I did and once you had watched the first series you with be begging to see the second which returns to our screens on April 1st 2012 and you should really tune in, I know I will.
9/10

Leave a Reply

