Buy A Blu-Ray A Week – UK


Blu-Rays To BUY

Moneyball – I really liked Moneyball, I didn’t love it as much as others did but I still thought it was an engaging drama with some really great acting. This is one of Brad Pitt’s finest performances and most definitely Jonah Hill’s best, in this film I found out he really can act. Moneyball is a smart soulful baseball movie that everyone will love. You don’t have to know anything about baseball going into this movie, you could the baseball and still completely love this movie, thats how good it is.

Take Shelter – This film was utter brilliance, Michael Shannon’s acting in this film will blow you away, he gives an in-depth emotional performance that deserves some sort of recognition. I can see some people not liking this film as it isn’t filled with action and violence but if you enjoy an astonishing drama with phenomenal acting then this will be right up your ally.

Tower Heist –  I was debating whether to put this film under buy or avoid but I decided to put it here for quite a few reasons. Tower Heist is about a group of workers who lose all their money because their investor committed fraud so they conspire to rob the man who lost them all their money. I did quite enjoy this movie, it is Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy’s best movie in a while and that’s why I think it is worth a buy, I think this could be the return of good old Murphy and Stiller. If you aren’t a Stiller or Murphy fan then this obviously isn’t the movie for you but if you are a fan this is a great buy.

The Adventures Of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn –  If you have ever wondered what it would look like if Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg – two of the greatest directors of all time – did a motion capture movie then this is that movie. Tintin is a fast paced stunningly beautiful picture that can be enjoyed by the whole family. I’m not the biggest fan of this style of film as I struggle to gain a relationship with the characters and they seem as though they lack heart but if you can get over that then you will love this movie. I highly recommend this to anyone who was a huge fan of the original cartoons or comics as you will not be disappointed and will be constantly on the edge of your seat.

Bly-Rays To AVOID

Machine Gun Preacher – Now let me start by saying I know some people that really liked this movie, I did not. Butler performs just as good as usual but that is one of the only positives in this movie. The biggest negative is the editing, this movie dragged a lot, it could have easily been half an hour shorter to stop this movie feeling as though it’s sole purpose was to cram it with facts. I didn’t like this movie so I obviously wouldn’t recommend it but I do know people that like it so it could be right up your ally.

All of the above blu-rays will be released on Monday 19th March 2012. Which ones will you be picking up this week? Feel free to tell me your thoughts in the comments below. Thanks again for reading.

Leave a Reply

