Buy A Blu-Ray A Week – USA


Blu-Rays To BUY

Melancholia – This film isn’t to everyones taste but I really loved Melancholia. This film is incredibly beautiful and it is impossible to be slightly moved by the smaller events that take place within a grander scale. This film is quite slow and this slow tempo may cause many viewers to be turned off but trust me that slow pace is worth it as this film is a true masterpiece. I wouldn’t recommend this to everyone as I know quite a few people who will hate this film but when you watch the trailer (click on the image below) and you enjoy it then you will most probably love this wonderful film.

The Descendants – I’m quite annoyed that The Descendants didn’t win more Oscars, in the end it only took home one for Adapted Screenplay, I feel as though George Clooney should have taken away the Oscar for Best Actor but it wasn’t to be. I really liked this film and thought that Clooney’s performance was the best of 2011 and should have received some recognition. This is my favourite Alexander Payne film, it is so sweet yet sad at the same time. I would recommend this to every person that I lay eyes upon, it really is a great film.

My Week With Marilyn – Another brilliant Oscar worthy film is released this week in the USA. My Week With Marilyn is a light charming affair that centres on the multitalented woman Marilyn Monroe. This film is worth a watch just see the great performances from Kenneth Branagh and Michelle Williams. The film does feel a little puny compared the the astounding performance Williams delivers. If you are a Monroe fan this film is right up your ally but even if you aren’t this film is still worth your time, just for the astonishing acting and the interesting subject matter.

The Adventures Of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn – If you have ever wondered what it would look like if Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg – two of the greatest directors of all time – did a motion capture movie then this is that movie. Tintin is a fast paced stunningly beautiful picture that can be enjoyed by the whole family. I’m not the biggest fan of this style of film as I struggle to gain a relationship with the characters and they seem as though they lack heart but if you can get over that then you will love this movie. I highly recommend this to anyone who was a huge fan of the original cartoons or comics as you will not be disappointed and will be constantly on the edge of your seat.

Young Adult – I haven’t actually had the chance to see Young Adult, it wasn’t actually screening in my local cinema which I was quite gutted about. I have heard so many good things about this movie, especially regarding Charlize Theron’s performance, it has been said that she is absolutely astounding. I will have to wait till this is out in the UK to check it out but I most definitely will be watching this one, and from what I have heard you should too.

Blu-Rays To AVOID

The Three Musketeers – Oh my, there is a lot of bad movies released this week. I mean what can I say about The Three Musketeers, well it is bad, very very bad. It’s filled with poor acting, diabolical action scenes mixed with an extremely messy plot. It seems as though the film makers were attempting to mimic the style and shit quality of the Pirates Of The Caribbean series and they pulled it off but made it seem ten times worse. Please for the love of God don’t go near this movie with a barge pole.

Happy Feet Two – I along with many other people really enjoyed the first Happy Feet movie but I along with everyone else was extremely disappointed with this movie. Now Happy Feet Two may be a great movie for you to stick on in front of your children to keep them quite but I highly doubt that anyone over the age of ten will actually enjoy this movie. After watching the first Happy Feet I really wasn’t craving a sequel and I really wish that they didn’t make it, I was so disappointed.

All these titles are released on Tuesday 13th March. What will you be picking up this week? Feel free to tell me your thoughts in the comments below. Thank you very much for reading and if you enjoyed this post please feel free to hit that like and follow button to show me some love.

Leave a Reply

