‘Alcatraz’ TV Series Review


I have decided to expand my blog into television shows as well as movies to give my blog a wider audience. I will only review television shows and nothing else, I will review a series as a whole and not individual episodes. I hope that you all like that I am expanding into television and hope you enjoy my posts that follow.

The first television show that I have decided to review for you guys is the J.J. Abrams produced TV show Alcatraz. First off let me tell you what Alcatraz is actually about, Alcatraz is a mystery thriller that focuses on the old American prison, Alcatraz that has been closed for the last sixty years; but on the night the prison closed down all of the inmates awaiting transportation and their guards vanished. Sixty years later after the prison was closed and the inmates vanished they begin to turn up into daily life where it is the job of a detective and a comic book shop owner to capture the prisoners to find out what really happened.

I was really excited when I first heard about this series, I am a huge J.J. Abrams fan and also am a massive fan of television shows and films that centre around prisons, I don’t know why but there is something about them that intrigues me. So I thought that when it premiers I would start watching it and fall in love with it, like I did Prison Break, lets just say thats not exactly what happened.

Obviously with every series you start off with the first episodes, so I sat down to watch the premiere and I was quite let down but I thought I would give it a few more episodes to prove it self but unfortunately it still didn’t manage to impress me. After watching the first two episodes my worst fear was confirmed, that every episode would feature inmate or guard coming back that they must capture. Before too long the same structure of a new character coming in each episode and getting locked up again at the end becomes extremely boring and repetitive.

I lasted to episode seven of Alcatraz before it got the stage where i didn’t care about watching it any longer. I didn’t purposely not watch it, I just forgot it was on and had no desire to go back and watch it. It just feels as though you are watching the same episode every week just with a different character being chased.

Alcatraz stars Jorge Garcia who most of you will remember from J.J. Abrams’ first phenomenal series Lost. In Alcatraz he plays a nerdy comic book collector and shop owner who gets dragged into the case of the inmates returning because he wrote a book on Alcatraz, I didn’t know that was now the entry process for a secret organisation, you must know stuff about a prison and you are now an agent, fuck your day job, leave your shop to run its self.

Acting really isn’t the strongest point in this show, Jorge Garcia is pretty average at his role but he seems phenomenal compared to the other performances in this show. Sarah Jones who plays the detective come agent is nearly the worst “actor” in this whole show, her performance isn’t at all convincing and her mannerisms just annoy me. Nothing can compare to extremely diabolical acting of the guards and inmates that come onto our screens just for one episode. I am kind of glad they are only in one episode just for the simple fact that I don’t have to endure another second of what they call acting.

I have already stopped watching Alcatraz and I don’t think I will be returning, I have not become attached to the characters enough to care what happens in the end, and I’m not particularly interested in how the inmates traveled forward in time. To be brutally honest I just don’t care anymore. I could see this series being axed after the first but because J.J. Abrams’ name is attached I don’t think it will be.

Alcatraz had the real potential to be absolutely phenomenal but I was quite let down by the whole series. I did enjoy parts of the series so far, the plot its self it pretty good and like I said could have been great but the plot has really gone to waste. The problem is with shows like this is that you know you have to wait till the final episode to find out what is going on and why, I can’t wait that long to find out.

So what do you think of Alcatraz? Do you enjoy it? Or have you stopped watching it like I have? Feel free to tell me your thoughts on the show in the comments below. Thank you very much for reading and if you enjoyed this post please feel free to hit like and follow to show me some love.

 

One Response to ‘Alcatraz’ TV Series Review

  1. i think you said it all. and i don’t think i need to waste my time watching it anymore i’d rather focus on other series since it seems its a waste of my time.

Leave a Reply

