Buy A Blu-Ray A Week – UK


Blu-rays To BUY

Contagion – I didn’t think I would like this film but it turns out I really enjoyed it. This isn’t really a film that centres on the human population being killed off but it shows how the human race would react to then end of our race. Contagion has a huge ensemble of brilliant actors and actresses featuring the wonderful talents of Kate Winslet, Jude Law, Laurence Fishburne, Marion Cotillard, Matt Damon and Gwyneth Paltrow; all of them delivering stellar performances. This was actually the scariest film I saw this year as it really showed us what would happen if disease took over the world. The only downside to this film is that it may make you extremely paranoid about germs after watching it. I loved this film and think it is one of the best disaster movies I have seen in a while, therefore I definitely recommend this film.

The Ides Of March – A gripping, intelligent and entertaining political drama that is definitely worth a watch. The Ides Of March is another George Clooney directed movie and this one is phenomenal. There are brilliant performances from the wonderful Ryan Gosling, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Paul Giamatti and of course the astonishing George Clooney. This is a pulse racing thriller that centres around American politics, if you aren’t really into politics then this might not be for you but this film really is amazing. Just for the breathtaking performances and beautiful direction I would recommend this to everyone but if you really aren’t into politics then this won’t be for you.

Game Of Thrones Season 1 – I never actually watched Game Of Thrones, yes I know I have been told many a time that I am missing out. But don’t worry I will be picking this up soon and then I will be able to experience that critically acclaimed series. From what I have heard I would definitely recommend this to a lot of people but I can really judge until I actually give it a watch. I think that you should pick this up just because of all the buzz and acclaim that has surrounded it.  

Blu-rays To AVOID

Immortals – I really really hated this movie, I wasn’t interested from any of the poster or trailers. While watching Immortals all I thought about was how much this film is trying to mimic 300, yes it has the same producers but it doesn’t mean you have to try and recreate the exact same film. To be fair to this film, it does look pretty nice, and has surprisingly great looks for such a dreadful film. It seems as though film makers can never get these sort of films right and I don’t want to see hundreds of more attempts until they make a good one. I really wouldn’t recommend this film to anyone as I hated it so much, but its your call.

The Rum Diary –  I was unsure where to put this film as I would have given it around three stars which technically means you like it but I don’t think it is worth your £15 so I would recommend it but when the price goes down or just for a rental. It does take a long time to get going and by that time a majority of the audience would have drifted off but I still thought parts were pretty funny and warm-hearted. So if you think this film s for you then you will probably like it and you should pick it up but for most people I wouldn’t recommend The Rum Diary until it is around £6 or if its on Netflix.

Anonymous –  I know a few people that actually liked this film but I thought that it was pretty poor, the acting  wasn’t the best I have ever seen the, and the best part of the whole film was the costume design which I actually thought was quite impassive. The storyline and script are bizarre and are so unbelievable, yes some people may enjoy it and like the bizarreness of it, but it just didn’t wash with me. I wouldn’t actually recommend this to anyone but if it is on television it might be worth a brief watch but please don’t waste your money on it.

All of the films about are released on Monday 5th March so you can pick up the ones you want tomorrow. So what are you picking up this week? Feel free to tell me your thoughts in the comments below. Thank you very much for reading and if you enjoyed this post please feel free to hit that like and follow button.

Leave a Reply

