Why No ‘Midnight In Paris’ Blu-Ray?


I know this rant will only apply to my UK readers but I thought it was important for you all to hear about this. As many of you may know Midnight In Paris has not been released on Blu-ray in the UK. I have no idea why but it takes the piss, as many of you may know Midnight In Paris was one of my favourite movies of 2011, I absolutely loved every second of it. A majority, if not all of new releases get released on both DVD and Blu-ray in the UK these days and Midnight In Paris is the first new release film that I have wanted to buy that isn’t available on Blu-ray.

Now I am one of those people who no longer buy DVD’s just for the simple fact that Blu-rays are superior, they have a greatly improved picture quality with crystal clear HD surround sound. So every film that I want to buy I buy it on Blu-ray and try to avoid DVD’s where possible. The thing that has annoyed me about Midnight In Paris not being released on Blu-ray in the UK is that it has been released everywhere else in both DVD and Blu-ray but not the UK, what the fuck its up with that? It’s not as though Woody Allen didn’t want Midnight In Paris to be released on Blu-ray or that Sony Pictures Classic thought that the quality difference between Blu-ray and DVD wasn’t worth both formats being released.

Two UK stores, HMV and Blockbuster both advertised the Midnight In Paris Blu-ray set for the same release date as the DVD, but you know what? The Blu-ray never got released. There are no signs or indications that the Blu-ray will be released any time so which seriously angers me. I seriously want to own this film but I am not going to buy it on DVD because knowing my luck I will buy the DVD and then a few weeks later the Blu-ray would come out.

Come on Sony Pictures Classic what is your problem with us Brits? Why do the rest of the world get the Blu-ray version of Midnight In Paris and not us? Please Sony Pictures enlighten me what you are such dicks and just don’t release it?

One Response to Why No ‘Midnight In Paris’ Blu-Ray?

  1. Steph says:

    In agreement here – would very much like a response but there’s very little about the issue online. Loved the film but don’t want to buy it on DVD for the same reasons outlined in your rant – I’ll only end up having to replace it. Just asked them on their Twitter page as the ‘contact us’ feature on their website is dead.

Leave a Reply

