BAFTA’s 2012 Predictions


The BAFTA’s are taking place this Sunday at 9pm (GMT) on BBC1 hosted by the brilliant Stephen Fry. As the BAFTA’s are fast approaching I thought I would just do a quick run through of who I think will win and who I would like to win. Now on Sunday I will be doing a live text stream of the BAFTA’s so that all you lot from around the world can see who wins at the same time as me. So lets get the predictions underway, but I am bound to get some wrong obviously.

Best Film

The Artist – I think it will be The Artist will win it just because of its uniqueness and because of how loved it was by the critics as the best and only silent movie in that last 80 years. It is most definitely between this and The Descendants but i feel The Artist may just win it.
The Descendants
Drive – I would very much like Drive to win as it was my second favourite movie of 2011 and also as it has only been nominated for one Academy Award I would like it to pick up as many awards as possible at the BAFTA’s. I just don’t think it will win because everyone loves The Artist. 
The Help
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Outstanding British Film

My Week with Marilyn
Senna – I would really really like Senna to win it seeing it was a damn good film, it is one of the best documentaries I have seen and I think it deserves to be recognised but I know it won’t win and it will win best documentary instead.
Shame
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – I would say its pretty obvious that Tinker Tailor should win as it is the only film in the category that is also nominated for best picture  so on that basis I think it will win, plus it was a bloody good film.
We Need to Talk About Kevin

Director

The Artist – Michel Hazanavicius – I reckon yet again that The Artist will win it, I really hope it doesn’t take most of the awards it was nominated for because I hate it when films do that and it also wasn’t a good enough film to win so many awards.
Drive – Nicolas Winding Refn – Yet again I would really like Drive to win this one as it was beautifully directed and it deserves a lot more credit than it is getting at the moment.
Hugo – Martin Scorsese
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Tomas Alfredson
We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lynne Ramsay

Animated Film

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn
Arthur Christmas – I reckon Arthur Christmas will win and I want it to win, it was pure brilliance. The only reason I don’t think it will win is because it is a Christmas movie but BAFTA can’t stop clearly the best film winning just because it centres around Christmas. `
Rango 

Documentary

George Harrison: Living in the Material World
Project Nim
Senna – I reckon it will be and hope it is Senna that takes best documentary. It has to be the documentary that takes it seeing it was also nominated for best British film. This was by far the best documentary of the year and I can easily see it winning.

Leading Actor

Brad Pitt – Moneyball
Gary Oldman  – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – I think Gary Oldman has a very high chance of winning this award because he is long overdue a BAFTA and he is British, I really really want him to win and will be gutted if he doesn’t but it will be very close in the category between Oldman, Clooney and Dujardin and I can see any of them three winning it.
George Clooney – The Descendants
Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Michael Fassbender – Shame

Leading Actress

Bérénice Bejo  – The Artist
Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady – I reckon Meryl Streep will win and deserves to win, I do want her to win the most out of everyone seeing she deserves it for her brilliant performance as Thatcher, but I would also like to see Viola Davis take the award home.
Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn
Tilda Swinton – We Need to Talk About Kevin
Viola Davis – The Help

Supporting Actor

Christopher Plummer – Beginners – I think Christopher Plummer will and should win this award for his astonishing actin in Beginners for which he received a lot of praise and giving him this award would be the credit he so rightfully deserves.
Jim Broadbent – The Iron Lady
Jonah Hill – Moneyball
Kenneth Branagh – My Week with Marilyn
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Ides of March

Supporting Actress

Carey Mulligan – Drive – I reckon Carey Mulligan would win it which I wouldn’t mind as I did love Drive but I just feel that Melissa McCarthy is more deserving of the award.
Jessica Chastain – The Help
Judi Dench – My Week with Marilyn
Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids – I would really like Melissa McCarthy to take this award as she was hilarious in her role as Megan in Bridesmaids and she really needs to recognised for her hilarious role.
Octavia Spencer – The Help

As you have noticed I have only really done the main categories as they are the ones people only usually care about. Anyway, who do you think will win? Who do you want to win? Feel free to tell me in the comments below. Thanks again for reading.

Leave a Reply

