Buy A Blu-Ray A Week – USA


Blu-Ray’s To BUY

Drive – Well what can I say about this film? It was my second favourite film of 2011 so its obvious that I love this film. Not everyone who watches this film will love it; some will complain about the unnecessary violence and gore and others will just not get the grasp of it pure brilliance. This film stars Ryan Gosling and Albert Brooks both at their best and it is a shock to me that Drive didn’t get a best picture nomination at the Academy Awards. If you are not one for violence then I wouldn’t recommend this but if you enjoy good quality movies then this is one for you to pick up this week.

Blu-rays To AVOID

The Thing (2011) – This is the terrible 2011 prequel not the amazing original, this is a movie that if you loved the original you should not go anywhere near this piece of garbage. It is like the makers of this film knew it was going to be awful so they just completely overloaded the whole films with unnecessary GCI. Once you have watched this film it really isn’t hard to forget about it, it really doesn’t stick in your mind. I would probably watch this if it was on Netflix but would not rent of buy it.

In Time – This has to be one of my biggest disappointments of the year, this had the potential to be great, with Justin Timberlake and Cillian Murphy instead it was a massive flop. I hated this movie with a passion, the story could have been so amazing, the concept was great but they just executed it extremely poorly. The only time I would watch this movie again is if it is the only thing that is on the television. Please listen to me don’t waste you precious dollars on this pile of manure.

All of these blu-rays are released on 31st January 2012
What Blu-rays will you be picking up this week? Tell me in the comments below. Thanks for reading.

2 Responses to Buy A Blu-Ray A Week – USA

  1. rwhyan says:

    Hell ya, drive was also my top movie of the year. It’s so perfect, I’ll definitely be picking this up on Tuesday.

  2. Nick says:

    I thought the beginning of “In Time” was quite good. Like you said, it had a lot of potential. But then it turned into a generic action flick. I still think people should check it out though and judge for themselves — there’s good performances there and the premise is pretty thought-provoking. Good have been better, yes, but not the worst thing in the world.

Leave a Reply

